The application has a simple logger, defined at ../dicomdb/logger.py. To use it, you import as follows:

from dicomdb.logger import bot

and then issue messages at whatever level is suitable for the message:

bot.abort("This is an abort message")
bot.error("This is a debug message")
bot.warning("This is a warning message")
bot.log("This is a log message")

bot.log("This is a debug message")
bot.info("This is an info message")
bot.verbose("This is regular verbose")
bot.verbose2("This is level 2 verbose")
bot.verbose3("This is level 3 verbose")
bot.debug("This is a debug message")

All logger commands will print the level by default, except for info, which looks like a message to the console (usually for the user), and except for quiet, which isn’t a level that is used in code, but a level the user can specify to not print anything, ever.


By default, the logger will have debug mode, which coincides with a level of 5. You can customize this level at any point by setting the environment variable MESSAGELEVEL. In your secrets.py this might look like this:

import os
os.environ['MESSAGELEVEL'] = 2

The levels supported include the following:

The logger can write it’s output to file, or do something else, but isn’t configured to do anything other than the above currently.